Planning & Zoning Commission

Who They Are
The Planning & Zoning Commission consists of seven volunteers from the community; at least five must be within the planning and platting jurisdiction of the City. The Mayor appoints the volunteers at the start of a new administration, where they are approved by the City Council. Members serve a staggered two year term until they are removed or their successors are appointed.

What They Do
The duties of the Commission include final decision on applications for variances; applications referred by the Planning Director; applications for Special Use Permits and appeals from a decision made by the Planning Director. The Commission also makes recommendations to City Council for applications of adoptions and amendments to the City's Zoning & Development Code; Official Zoning Map; Comprehensive Plan and additions, deletions or changes to the use categories allowed in any district.

When They Meet
Planning & Zoning Commission meetings are held on the second Thursday of the month, within the City Council Chambers, at 6 pm, unless otherwise noted. See the Agenda for more details.

Planning Commissioners


Chairman JR Trujillo 04/2022
Commissioner J.D. Martinez
Commissioner Charlene Guinn 04/2022
Commissioner Ross Chavez, Jr. 04/2022
Commissioner Roland Borrego 05/2022
Commissioner Joseph Salazar 04/2022
Commissioner Christine "Teeney" Bustos 01/2023

December 2023

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
26 27 28 29 30 01 02
03 04 05 06 07 08 09
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31 01 02 03 04 05 06

There are no published events in current month.

View All
  1. Variance
  2. Special Use
  3. Special Exception
  4. Historic
  5. Other Request Types

Variance Request

($100/residential  &  $500/commercial)

A Variance is a request to deviate from current zoning ordinances;  It is not a change in zoning, but a waiver from the requirements of a zoning ordinance.  Approved variances are permanent changes that stay with the property - not the property owner.  During the review of any variance request, the Planning Commission will decide to approve, conditionally approve or deny the request based on whether or not all the variance review criteria set forth here within Municipal Code, Chapter 350, §406 has been met. If a request does not meet all four of the listed criteria, the request shall be denied.